June 21 is National “Ride Your Motorcycle to Work” day. In order to celebrate the day properly, Teens in the Driver Seat wants to make sure you are up to date on motorcycle laws and give you some tips on how to become a safer rider.
Texas law requires motorcyclists and motorcycle passengers to wear helmets with a few exceptions. No helmet is required for the rider if:
- The rider is at least 21 years old, or
- The rider has successfully completed a motorcycle safety course or has proof of health insurance of at least $10,000 coverage for injuries that result from a motorcycle crash.
Even if you do meet those requirements, wearing a helmet could save your life. Also keep in mind that if you don’t meet those requirements, you could be fined up to $50 plus court fees.
In Texas, if you’re under 17, and have a restricted motorcycle or moped license, for the first six months, you have several restrictions on your license, much like the graduated driver license law. The restrictions are:
- You may not operate the motorcycle between the hours of midnight and 5 a.m., unless you are in sight of a parent, or the operation is necessary for employment, school-related activities or it is a medical emergency, or
- While using a wireless communication device.
Stay safe on the road by following these tips:
- Helmets are a great way to become a safer motorcycle rider. Some states don’t require all riders to wear a helmet, but wearing one is the safest way to ride.
- Stick out to other riders and drivers by wearing bright-colored clothing, turning on your headlight during the daytime, and signaling your intentions.
- Take the motorcycle safety course and practice and apply what you learn there.
- Don’t drink and ride.
For more safety tips, go to looklearnlive.org.