There are three major points in the new law for teen drivers in Kansas to note:
- Teenagers who get their learner’s permit in 2010 must have it for a full 12 months before getting their license.
- Teen drivers are only allowed to have one “non-sibling passenger” who is under the age of 21***
- Teen drivers are not allowed to drive past 9 p.m. unless they are driving to or from work or school***
- ***Note: Both passenger restrictions and nighttime driving restrictions may be lifted after 6 months.
The Insurance Institute of Highway Safety (IIHS) gave Kansas’ graduated driver licensing (GDL) law a rating of “good.” According to the institute, states who receive a rating of good have the following: “an administrative license revocation law that mandates at least a 30-day revocation for a violation with few or no exceptions for hardship; a law under which it’s illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) at or above 0.08 percent; a readily enforceable law under which it’s illegal for anyone younger than 21 to drive with any measurable BAC (enforcement is impeded in some states because police must suspect that a young driver has a high BAC before administering an alcohol test to check for any measurable BAC); and sobriety checkpoints must be permitted.”
The new laws will certainly help strengthen the GDL in Kansas.
Check out other states that have made changes in their teen driving laws.