TxDOT reminds motorists that “buzzed” driving is drunk driving
Spring – March 1st through May 31st – marks the most dangerous season on Texas roadways for alcohol-related traffic crashes. That’s why the Texas Department of Transportation is reminding motorists to line up a P.A.S.S. – a Person Appointed to Stay Sober – because even “buzzed” driving is drunk driving.
In 2011, spring accounted for 26 percent of all alcohol-related traffic crashes in Texas, according to TxDOT, more than any other season. At the same time, weekends continue to claim too many lives – more than half (58 percent) of all alcohol-related crashes occurred on a weekend in 2011. With spring break and holiday weekends approaching, TxDOT wants motorists to know that consuming just a few drinks can still impair a person’s ability to drive, and it has launched a public safety campaign to let them know of the effect alcohol has on driving.
State law makes it illegal for someone with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent or higher to drive a vehicle. However, drivers can be arrested with a BAC below .08 when a law enforcement officer has probable cause, based on the driver’s behavior. And, don’t forget, if you’re under 21 and caught driving with ANY amount of alcohol in your system, you’ll face hefty penalties.
People tend to underestimate their BAC when drinking alcohol, according to a study by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism. As a result, they may think they are still OK to drive because they have only consumed a couple of drinks, when in fact, they may be impaired.
Never get in the car with someone who has been drinking and never get behind the wheel if you have. It’s not worth the risk!
There are also some precautions you can take around drunk drivers! Learn more>